The SOFIA Science Council is chartered by the USRA Board of Trustees to provide science policy oversight and advise on SOFIA Science Operations to the Board of Trustees.

Current membership (September 2018):

Judith Pipher – Chair (Univ. of Rochester)
Jürgen Stutzki (Univ. of Cologne)
Christopher Walker (Univ. of Arizona)
Alycia Weinberger (Carnegie Institution of Washington)
David Neufeld (Johns Hopkins University)
Michael Werner (Caltech – JPL)
Gary Melnick (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)