The Cycle Plan is the baseline schedule approved by SOFIA senior management. These schedules are subject to change depending on budget and operational constraints. Details such as targets and exposure times for each flight series are finalized about a month before the beginning of the series.

The table below gives information about the Cycle 4 Flight Series. The flight plan tables for series that have been planned are available via the links, and they contain information about the flight legs including the targets being observed, and the total durations. Generally, the layout of observations is not expected to change in any major way, but since the posted plans are approved several weeks before the flight dates, the actual flight plan may differ from the posted ones in minor ways.

Cycle 4 Flight Series (posted January 13, revised July 29, 2016)

The SOFIA Program has decided to move the FORCAST OC4-I series ahead of the HAWC+ flights in order to give the HAWC+ team additional time to prepare for the second commissioning series. The flight series designations, OC4-I (FORCAST) and OC4-H (HAWC+) will be retained. The table has been updated to show the revised schedule.

Flight Series
Name Instrument Flight Date Number of flights Base
OC4-A FORCAST - 8 Palmdale
OC4-B FIFI-LS - 9 Palmdale
OC4-C EXES - 4 Palmdale
OC4-Commissioning-1 HAWC+ - Palmdale
OC4-D GREAT - 10 Palmdale
OC4-E GREAT - 8 Christchurch
OC4-G FORCAST - 8 Christchurch
OC4-Commissioning 2 HAWC+ - Palmdale
OC4-F FIFI-LS - 8 Christchurch
OC4-H HAWC+ - Palmdale
OC4-I FORCAST - 6 Palmdale
OC4-J FLITECAM - 6 Palmdale
OC4-K GREAT - 10 Palmdale
OC4-L HAWC+ - 8 Palmdale
OC4-M EXES - 5 Palmdale