Colloquia

The colloquia are held in room 103 of the SOFIA Science Center (N232 at NASA Ames) on Wednesday afternoons, 3:30 - 4:30 pm (any exceptions are noted in the event description).

If you cannot come in person join by WebEx using this link. Note that it is now possible to call through your computer or by phone at the number listed on your WebEx session (WebEx help).

To subscribe to Colloquium Announcements via email, remove your email from the list, or edit subscription preferences go to: https://lists.nasa.gov/mailman/listinfo/sofia-colloquia-exp

Archive of talks from 2009 onward may be found by clicking on the year in the sidebar on the Events page and then sorting by Colloquia.


SOFIA COLLOQUIA: SPRING 2020

Colloquia Details
Event Event Date Speaker Affiliation
SOFIA: Your Window to the Far-Infrared Universe (A 30-minute AAS Plenary Talk Encore) Wednesday, January 29, 2020 - 3:30pm PST Jim De Buizer SOFIA/USRA
The evolution of red supergiants to supernova Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 3:30pm PST Emma Beasor NOAO
X-ray impact on planet formation Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 3:30pm PST Lisseth Gavilan Marin NASA Ames
New Views of Debris Disks Wednesday, March 04, 2020 - 3:30pm PST David Wilner Harvard CfA
[CANCELED] OSIRIS-REx Encounters Bennu: A Surprising Asteroid Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Ellen Howell LPL
[CANCELED] TBD Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Justin Spilker UT Austin
[CANCELED] TBD Wednesday, April 01, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Jeyhan Kartalpepe RIT
3D mapping of the dusty, magnetized ISM with starlight polarization Wednesday, April 15, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Gina Panopoulou Caltech
The physics and chemistry of determining protoplanetary disk masses Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Uma Gorti NASA Ames / SETI
[CANCELED] TBD Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Juergen Ott NRAO
[CANCELED] Title - tbd Wednesday, May 06, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Molly Peeples Space Telescope Science Institute
[CANCELED] TBD Wednesday, May 13, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Chris Theissen UCSD
A Needle in a Haystack - Searching for Stardust inside the Solar System Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Pierre Haenecour University of Arizona
[CANCELLED] TBD Thursday, May 21, 2020 - 3:00pm PDT Michael Person MIT
A Water Vapor Measurement Amid a Largely Quiescent Environment on Europa Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Lucas Paganini NASA HQ
SOFIA FEEDBACK Discovers a Rapidly Expanding Bubble toward the Galactic HII region RCW120 Wednesday, June 17, 2020 - 3:30pm PDT Loren Anderson West Virginia University

Share This Page