SOFIA at the 236th AAS Virtual Meeting

Galactic Center image with title "SOFIA Science at AAS"

SOFIA science will be all over the 236th AAS Virtual Meeting June 1-3, 2020! This webpage lists all SOFIA-related events during the meeting.

Presentations

June 1, 2020, 2:30PM -3:00PM, Exhibitor Webinar: How to Use Infrared Science Archive (IRSA) Tools, 2:30 pm–3:00 pm. Link here for AAS members.

June 1, 2020, 4:30 PM- 5:20 PM, Plenary Lecture 128.01. Journey to the Center of the Galaxy: Following the Gas to Understand the Past and Future Activity of Galaxy Nuclei, by Elisabeth Mills (The University of Kansas). Link here for AAS members.

June 2, 2020, 12:10 PM - 12:20 EDT Talk 209.07. A Molecular Inventory of the Orion Hot Core in Mid-Infrared with SOFIA/EXES, S. Nickerson et al. Link here for AAS members.

June 2, 2020, 2:50 PM - 3:00 PM EDT Talk 224.01. [OI] contribution to dense gas in NGC 7023 PDR. A. Parikka et al. Link here for AAS members.

June 2, 2020, 4:02 PM - 4:20 PM EDT Talk 219.05. Grain Alignment, Observational Status and Applications, B-G Andersson. Link here for AAS members.

June 2, 2020, 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM EDT IPoster 237.04. Multi-line Study of the Photo-dissociation Region M17-SW with SOFIA, R. Klein et al. Link here for AAS members.

June 3, 2020, 12:00 PM - 12:10 PM EDT Talk 306.06. The Dominance of the Magnetic Field in the Central Five Parsecs of the Galaxy, J. Schmelz et al. Link here for AAS members.

June 3, 2020, 3:00 PM - 3:10 PM EDT Talk 319.02. Early Results from SOFIA/EXES High Resolution Spectroscopic Observations of Circumstellar Envelopes of AGB Stars, E. Montiel et al. Link here for AAS members.

SOFIA Exhibit Hall booth

Scientists will be available at a virtual exhibit booth to discuss your ideas and answer your questions via a live chat. Come pick up our latest science newsletter.

Webinars

You can connect to two SOFIA webinars during the meeting - links will be available from the webinar program. Each is a 15 minute presentation with 15 minutes for Q&A:

  • June 2, noon PDT, 3 pm EDT: "Community Update", led by Margaret Meixner, director of SOFIA Science Mission Operations. Join the SOFIA team to learn about recent changes in leadership, current observing and funding opportunities, and planning for future instrumentation development. Link here for AAS members.
  • June 3, 9am PDT, noon EDT: "Building Legacy Proposals", led by B-G Andersson. This webinar will introduce details about how to formulate and building strong proposals for legacy projects and discuss opportunities to create proposals with synergies across multiple observatories. Link here for AAS members.

Press Conference

June 2, 8:15 am PT/11:15 am ET Galactic Center To & Fro" by Joan Schmelz. Link here for AAS members.
Although gravity dominates many celestial processes, new research has astronomers considering another invisible force near the supermassive black hole at the center of our Milky Way galaxy: magnetic fields.

Share This Page